The Ray C. Sherman
Community Service Award

Award Certificate
This award, named after our own Past President Ray Sherman, is to recognize persons in our community who have given of themselves for the benefit of all. Along with the recognition given by Geneseo Rotary, a $500 cash donation is given in honor of the recipient to that organization that benefited from the honoree's activity. These people, not necessarily members of Rotary, have exhibited the true spirit of the Rotary International motto of "Service Above Self"

Year Awarded
Member Name
Organization Recognized
1991 Ray C. Sherman
The Geneseo Community including Rotary
1991 Judie Houston
The Geneseo Fire Department Ambulance
1994 Terrell C. Price
The Geneseo Fire Department
1998 Doug Johnson
Boy Scouts of America - Troop 70
2000 Phillip & Marie Alley
Teresa House
2002 David Parish
Red Cross/Character Education/Polio Fund
2005 Bruce Godsave Geneseo Fire Department
2007 Dean Johnston Alzheimer's Association
2008 Steve Wiener Genesee Valley Rotary Camp
2010 David Dwyer Notre Dame Retreat House
2013 Paul & Marge Metzger Assembly of God Church
2016 Robert Kelsey Temple Hill Cemetery
2018 Lucille Kane Geneseo Parish Outreach Center
2019 Betsy Matthews Geneseo/Groveland Emergency Food Pantry
2020 Geoff Clough